A member of the Federation of Australian State and Territory Day Associations and the British and Commonwealth Societies Association. Patron in Chief: Sir James Gobbo AC CVO KStJ QC.


Victoria Day – 1 July

We celebrate the Anniversary of the Separation of Victoria and New South Wales which occurred on 1 July 1851. On that day, Victoria achieved not only its separate geographic boundaries, but also Responsible Government with the formation of the Victorian Parliament. Other Victorian institutions included the Supreme Court and the Public Service also commenced on this important day.

Victoria’s Anniversary – Flag Raising and Award Ceremony

No flag raising and award ceremony held in 2020 due to Coronavirus restrictions.

Traditionally on the 1st day of July, at 10:30 a.m., there is a Victorian flag raising ceremony and the re-enactment of Governor La Trobe’s reading of the proclamation at the Melbourne Town Hall. At 11:00 a.m. the Victoria Day Awards are presented by invited dignitaries in the Lower Town Hall. Refreshments are then served in the Portico Room. Attendance at the flag raising and Award Ceremony is always free. Attendance at the Reception requires a donation to cover costs.

Separation Anniversary Dinner – and La Trobe Lecture

The Separation Anniversary Dinner and La Trobe Lecture features a keynote address, usually from the Victorian of the Year. 

Separation Proclamation – November

15 November, 10.30am,  sees us celebrate the day that the proclamation of Victoria’s separation from New South Wales arrived from London. A function commemorating this important day will be held at the Separation Tree in the Royal Botanic Gardens Melbourne. Once the commemoration has concluded, attendees may enjoy refreshments at the Botanical Gardens Kiosk (at own cost). 

More infomation

Click here for more detailed information about our celebrations and how to book. 


Victoria Day Council, Copyright ©.
All Rights Reserved.